The Random Griffith

Rest in peace, Apple MacBook

Posted in a b c = apple butthurt column by Jackson Griffith on 07/07/2012

Of course, here I am again, apologizing for my lack of posting. The other night, I’d begun working on something for this space, and my MacBook started making this weird beeping noise. It crapped out on me, I restarted it, it couldn’t find the hard drive, then I tapped Apple key + C and got it to load, then it started beeping again. I opened up a utility called DiskUtility or something to repair permissions, and the hard drive was marked in red and it told me it could not be located or saved. I’m not a computer person, my credit right now is shit, I’ve got some other pressing bills to pay, and so the prospect of buying another computer is outside the realm of possibility for the near future.

I need a quick get-rich-quick scheme, because I’d begun recording and cataloging my songs for an upcoming project, and that’s out the window now. Also, I would like to do some short song-length videos of me playing my songs to upload to YouTube, so if anyone can help me out there, you can reach me at jacksonbgriffith@gmail.com. I’m not going to apologize here again, but I will tell you I am very frustrated. It’s just been one thing after another.

Hope to be back soon. –Jackson Griffith

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Andrew said, on 09/07/2012 at 02:35

    Don’t give up on it yet. http://ask.metafilter.com/180320/Mac-hard-drive-probably-dead-Help-me-figure-out-the-next-step

    There’s a bunch of diagnostic and repair info around the web if you can get to it via another computer.

  2. Ray Cushing said, on 02/09/2012 at 01:06

    Congratulations, Jackson Griffith, on being a Sammies finalist. It is also good to see Forever Goldrush on that list. In music as in other areas of life, there is no substitute for experience, despite all the media hype to the contrary.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

