The Random Griffith

And now for a bit of shameless self-promotion

Posted in Uncategorized by Jackson Griffith on 07/01/2010

I’m playing a gig this Friday night, January 8th. It’s at Luna’s Cafe in Midtown Sacramento, at 1414 16th Street, which is on the alley between N and O Streets, or O and N because 16th is a one-way street going north, and O comes before N. The show starts at 8 p.m., it’s all-ages, the cover charge is $6, and I go on first. After me comes Deven Farren & Samuel McLeod, and then the evening’s headliner, Evan Palmer and his group All on Seven.

Now, I’m a little bit biased here, but I think you should be there. Well, that’s up to you. But I do promise to play my honest best show I can, and it’s all original material, and my songs are pretty good. Below are the lyrics to “Round Tripper,” a song I wrote for last year’s FAWM, or February is Album Writing Month
. I managed to write 14 songs, and I recorded them in GarageBand and made an album that I gave out to friends and other people. I didn’t put the stuff online, but there are a couple or three songs from that deal on my MySpace page. I’m hoping this year I can post the songs as I record them. More on that later.

Minnesota Twins Texas Rangers Montreal Expos
Washington Senators and Nationals
I can’t keep ’em sorted out in my head for a minute

Changing places changing names changing uniforms and games
Because nothing stays the same ’cept the price keeps going up
But the dream’s still free and it’s here for you and me
Round tripper

When bat meets ball and it’s off to the bleachers
Or over the fence and you’re rounding the bases
It’s five-card stud with a king and four aces in your grip now
And the helmet flies off and the wind’s in your hair
And you hear the crowd cheering but you really don’t care
As you run in slow motion everybody loves a round tripper

Swinging for the fences swinging from the bars
Snaking on my bike through a frozen line of cars
Round tripper out of the park lost and found tripper
Out of the darkness and into the li-li-li-li-li-li-li-li-light
Round tripper

First base second base third base home plate
Had the girl and lost her and now I’m all alone
But spring training starts in a couple of weeks can you dig it?

When the pitchers start slinging and the bats get swinging
And no fat lady’s singing till way off in October
Then hope springs eternal that this is gonna be our dream season

And when bat meets ball and it’s off to the bleachers
Or over the fence and you’re rounding the bases
It’s five-card stud with a king and four aces in your grip now
And the helmet flies off and the wind’s in your hair
And you hear the crowd cheering but you really don’t care
As you run in slow motion everybody loves a round tripper

Swinging for the fences swinging from the bars
Snaking on my bike through a frozen line of cars
Round tripper out of the park lost and found tripper
Out of the darkness and into the li-li-li-li-li-li-li-li-light
Round tripper

Swinging for the fences swinging from the bars
Snaking on my bike through a frozen line of cars
Round tripper out of the park lost and found tripper
Out of the darkness and into the li-li-li-li-li-li-li-li-light
Round tripper

Round tripper round tripper
I wanna wanna hit a round tripper
Round tripper round tripper
Round tripper

Like I said, if you can make it out, cool. I’ll try my damnedest not to disappoint. —Jackson Griffith

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sandra Hanks said, on 07/01/2010 at 10:34

    Diane Wide sent me the link to your blog, and I’m very glad she did. I will post the link on my facebook fan page for my readers to enjoy. I will also send you a friend request if I can find you on facebook.
    All the best to you,
    Sandra

  2. Robert Schaefer said, on 07/01/2010 at 14:04

    Couldn’t make it.
    Too far. I’m way up here on the Mass/N.H. Border.
    So, my loyalties are Red Sox.

    But, I think I got a new Blog to read!
    I’m just trying to make some sense of what i’ve written and published since 1966.
    Time to Collect and republish. If your music is as smooth as your writing, put me down as someone who’ll buy it and listen to it.

  3. Robert Schaefer said, on 07/01/2010 at 14:20

    O.K.
    So I listened to those four songs, and hey, Jackson I can hear a little Byrds, a little Costello, and , acoustically guitar wise, “Blackbird”.
    What I don’t hear is : 1996. I mean I don’t hear these songs as being “dated”.
    You could do these songs today, with new musicians and new technology and I think you’d be pleased. These songs sound fine, even pretty darn good considering your age, experience etc, at the time. A pretty good outing i’d say!


Leave a Reply

