The Random Griffith

Everybody needs safe ground

Posted in Uncategorized by Jackson Griffith on 26/01/2010

Since today I probably won’t get around to finishing any of several long think pieces I’m in the process of writing, I figured I’d post more song lyrics. This is something I wrote last fall, and I don’t think I’ve ever played it in public. Thematically, it’s along the lines of “Sleeping Under the Stars,” and both those songs I’ve now arranged for finger-style guitar, which gives them a real folkish feel. I should have busted out the following, “Safe Ground,” when I played a gig with G.P. Bailey and Earl Brooks at Luna’s in December, but I thought G.P. had a song with the same title and didn’t feel like stepping on his toes. Here are the words:

Safe ground, everybody needs safe ground
A place to rest our weary heads and lay our burdens down

Some people look at this life like there’s winners and there’s losers
That’s the way it goes
I’ve even heard it said that the Almighty points His scepter
Where the money flows
I guess that wrathful God that they imagine has forgotten
Some of us down here
Where we endure the wind the rain the police and their dogs
In this climate of fear

Hard times for those of us the gravy train has passed on by
No mercy for us now
While to them that have, much more shall be added to their riches
Holy bailout
Here on the street the hunger builds there’s not enough to eat
The system’s all broke down
Entire families turned out of homes are showing up now
Where is there safe ground?

Safe ground, everybody needs safe ground
A place to rest our weary heads and lay our burdens down
Safe ground, help us find safe ground
Like you, we’re good people, please don’t run us out of town

These days a sad and endless caravan of shopping carts
Is always rolling through
But for the grace of something I can’t explain much larger than us
I might be there too
I see the lives of everyone around me fraught with fear
And hanging by a string
So many people say they’re only one paycheck away
From losing everything

Ain’t never seen things this bad it looks like the Great Depression
Returned for our time
So many hands outstretched as voices sadly whisper
Brother, can you spare a dime?
While others bailed out by government that favors them still
Throw that cash around
Don’t turn your back on those of us who cannot make ends meet
Please help us find safe ground

Safe ground, everybody needs safe ground
A place to rest our weary heads and lay our burdens down
Safe ground, help us find safe ground
Like you, we’re good people, please don’t run us out of town

I know there are good people who don’t find it entertaining
Watching others bleed
I know there’s folks out there who volunteer their time and money
To help those in need
And every day I hope and pray that we can pull together
And turn this ship around
May all of us share peace and happiness and ease of well-being
We all need safe ground

Safe ground, everybody needs safe ground
A place to rest our weary heads and lay our burdens down
Safe ground, help us find safe ground
Like you, we’re good people, please don’t run us out of town

I’m gonna break this out sometime soon, and hope to get that and a few of my other more socially conscious numbers together so I can play them at benefits or put them to use to help raise money for people who need it.

Oh, and if you’re interested, I’m playing Luna’s toward the end of next week, on Friday, February 5, with Tyler & Katie Ragle and James Cundiff. More on that later. —Jackson Griffith