The Random Griffith

Spinning around the sun

Posted in Uncategorized by Jackson Griffith on 16/02/2010

I think I had some pretty weird-ass dreams this morning. Can’t rightly remember. Not last night, though. After checking out the “crooning couples” show at Old Ironsides — which I’ve always harbored a secret desire to be part of, but never seemed to have the kind of stable relationship with a musically inclined partner that would make that possible — I slunk or slinked or whatever around on the periphery of the dance floor at the Press Club for the better part of an hour while Larry Rodriguez spun the funky jamz, fantasizing about what it might feel like to play bass on King Floyd’s iconic “Groove Me” (later nicked by the Rolling Stones to make “Tumblin’ Dice”) and even the J5’s “I Want You Back.” I think I want to play the bass, and if I was flush with cash and debt free, I’d be buying a Fender Precision right now, along with a bass amp.


But claustrophobia can do a weird number on my head, and in its grip, I left, went home, got the guitar and then stayed up until past 3 a.m. trying to write this song, which kinda started with a Merle Haggard-style chord progression a la “I Take a Lot of Pride in What I Am,” and then shifted into some Merle on LSD mutation with a Beatles-ish vibe. I woke up at 8 and finished the song. It’s called “I’m Always Right at Home Wherever I Am.” This will make eight songs done, or written, for the 14-song FAWM challenge. Six to go, 14 to record.

This old world spins around the sun that spins around the galaxy
That spins around the universe so many stars our eyes can see
And we are nothing at all
A mass of molecules just waiting to fall

You and me specks that move around this ball that spins around the sun
Don’t know about you but I used to feel cut off from everyone
An island in the sea far out
From the rest of this world but that’s changed and now

I’m always right at home wherever I am
Though once I felt alone but that was back when
’Cause now I feel sweetly connected to you
This universe must be made out of glue

Stick to me I will stick to you we’ll stick to everyone we know
Who’ll stick to everyone they know and soon the love we share will flow
Like honey as we move around
How can this love we give away keep us down

The love we give we get back then we give it back again
An endless feedback loop of love will blow through us just like the wind
Through the trees on a mountain ridge
And between you and me and you there’s a bridge

I’m always right at home wherever I am
Though once I felt alone but that was back when
’Cause now I feel sweetly connected to you
This universe must be made out of glue

Once I was disconnected then something happened I opened up
And felt this world and all the people in it connected by love
Sweet love makes this world go around
Once I discovered that how could I be down?

I’m always right at home wherever I am
Though once I felt alone but that was back when
’Cause now I feel sweetly connected to you
This universe must be made out of glue

I’m always right at home wherever I am
I’m always right at home wherever I am
I’m always right at home wherever I am

Not sure where any of this stuff comes from, because I just don’t know. When you shut off that inner editor, it’s kinda weird what comes across the transom. And now I want to write a psychedelic song filled with bad puns called “Aloo Samosa,” but the muse may have other ideas.

Erato salad, right? And fairies wear boots. —Jackson Griffith

Leave a Reply

