The Random Griffith

Beamed aboard, back on Teegeeack now

Posted in Uncategorized by Jackson Griffith on 24/02/2010

Hola, compadres. Sorry about the brief vacation from the blogosphere. I was rambling around the woods communing with some nature spirits and all of a sudden I got hit with a blinding light, and suddenly I was onboard one of those flying pie plate thingees, and my intelligent lobster friends insisted on taking me to Neptune for a parallel universe Bootsy Collins collaboration with Scott Joplin and Richard Strauss, an opera based on an unpublished Philip K. Dick manuscript. It took the better part of the weekend, and yesterday I was still trying to piece everything together, so my Internet presence was minimal.


Actually, what happened was I got bogged down in this writing of 14 songs for February project, and we had a live show at Luna’s Cafe in Sacramento, so I didn’t have the energy to post anything here. I’ve got a couple of other creative projects going, too. But that’s no excuse, and I should be back on track later today. Meanwhile, here’s what I’ve been working on. The first is a loping R&B-style ballad called “Whatever’s Whatever.” Now, a caveat: As a Buddhist, I don’t advocate using hoodoo products like candles and mojo bags to influence the time-space continuum, but that seemed to be what the chord structure was suggesting, so that’s where it went.

Girl I got the power
I got a brand new mojo hand now
In my pocket
And this is the hour
You gonna finally understand how
We will rock it

I burned a candle
So we can be together
Come to me now
’Cause I got a handle
On whatever’s whatever
Work it out

You got something going
That I want to get a taste of
Got my High John
The energy’s flowing
And I don’t want nothing wasted
Let’s get it on

I burned a candle
So we can be together
Come to me now
’Cause I got a handle
On whatever’s whatever
Work it out

Gonna rub my mojo hand
Gonna bring us together
Girl I want you oh so bad
Whatever’s whatever

Girl I got the feeling
That soon we will get sideways
Oh yes I do
I’m wheeling and dealing
I know it’s gonna be a nice day
Me beside you

I burned a candle
So we can be together
Come to me now
’Cause I got a handle
On whatever’s whatever
Come to me now
Yeah I got a handle
On whatever’s whatever
Come to me now
Girl I got a handle
On whatever’s whatever

The secod song, which I wrote yesterday, is your basic Rundgrenesque plaint for world peace; it’s titled “Love, Kindness and Compassion”:

Somewhere there’s a party
But don’t that feel so far away these days?
We’re going through some hard times
So many people lacking
In love, kindness and compassion

So many folks are hurting
Too many people ain’t working today
But the radio is burning
With voices attacking
Sweet love, kindness and compassion

Where in the world do some people get off?
They act so entitled like they think they are gods
And everyone else in this world can be bought and sold
But time’s running out on that world of the past
And nothing can last
Forever we know, we die then grow cold

We’re in this together
We got a choice on whether we can survive
Get stuck in an endgame
Or we can start attracting
More love, kindness and compassion

Where in this world do some people get off?
They act so entitled like they think they are gods
And everyone else in the world can be bought and sold
But time’s running out on that world of the past
And nothing can last
Forever we know, we die then grow cold

Somewhere there’s a river
We’ll cross over and live in paradise
Where there’s people giving
With love and compassion
Yeah, love, kindness and compassion
Yeah, sweet love, kindness and compassion
What’s so funny ’bout love, kindness and compassion?

Writing songs seems to be pretty easy and flowing, but the process does sap a certain amount of energy, so that’s probably why my presence on this blog has not been an everyday thing recently. Almost done with the project, though, and I will post the MP3s on this blog and then link them to the FAWM page.

Cheerio, as they say on the other thirtywhatever planets. —Jackson Griffith

Leave a Reply

