The Random Griffith

You were needing something to sing today? Goggomobil, baby!

Posted in Uncategorized by Jackson Griffith on 27/02/2010

I often awaken searching for a snappy tune to get my day going. As long as it isn’t, oh, a vintage Mentos jingle or anything, I’m pretty well set. But sometimes there are songs that get in the ear and stay there, and when they’re combined with a car as nifty as Germany’s postwar Goggomobil, well ….


Tell me you could resist that. Well, probably you could, but I’m pretty weak in that department. Just give me some lieder and an accordion backing, and I’m pretty well squared away. Goggomobil produced cars in the Bavarian town of Dingolfing from 1955 until 1969; apparently the company was absorbed into the BMW beast in Munich.



I just love these ads. They’re so goofily German, and the cars are pretty cool, too. I’d own one in an instant. And perhaps we’re heading toward urban environments with chronically underpowered cartoon cars. Which gets no argument from me. I’d rather see something on the road out of Robert Crumb’s sketchbook than all those Hummers and Escalades. Goggomobil, jawohl! —Jackson Griffith

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brandon Weber said, on 27/02/2010 at 12:07

    I need one.


Leave a Reply

