The Random Griffith

Greetings from spinning beach ball Apple hell

Posted in Uncategorized by Jackson Griffith on 02/03/2010

Jeebus. This has been one janky day. As in, get up in the morning, put one foot in front of the other and keep moving, even when thangs is going incredibly sideways. It hasn’t butthurt my mood much, and I found myself crossing a street this morning to look at some blooming flowers a little closer: five lobes, or six? Bright yellow, or deep purple? Even when everything keeps getting all loopy, there is incredible beauty all around.


Even in vintage Audi commercials from the 1960s. Dig that the two women are riding in the front seats with the two dudes in the back, and the woman riding shotgun is pouring tea, and there’s groovy German flute jazz and really cool street scenes with other weird German cars of the period. Heaven.

Now, with this MacBook. I’m lucky enough to post this. It’s been freezing, giving me the beach ball, not letting me download stuff I need (telling me I have no space on my hard drive even though the script at the bottom of the Finder window tells me I have 380 gigs to spare), and I can’t run Disk Utility to see whatsa matter. Can’t even boot off my OS X install disc.

Which is a big B little ummer bummer, because I was hoping to use the peace of this week’s house sitting gig to record as many of my new 14 songs for the FAWM project as I could manage. That little project is on hold, obviously. And, well, I could use some help sorting this mess out.

Dammit, I hate it when things go sideways like this. Forward is my preferred direction. —Jackson Griffith

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jerry Barnes said, on 02/03/2010 at 09:47

    Sorry to hear about your Mac problems. Wish I could help but it’s pretty tough at a distance.
    Have you been having problems before now?
    Are you able to backup some “important stuff” in case things get worse?
    What OS are you running?
    Ideally you could afford to get a local Mac expert to help diagnose/fix the problem.
    Can’t boot off your OSX install disk?
    Have you tried booting while holding down the option key?
    Good luck!

    jer

  2. JP said, on 02/03/2010 at 14:45

    You should have a Genius take a look at that. It’s the best place to start.
    Book an appointment here: http://www.apple.com/ardenfair.
    I was having similar troubles a couple years back and a memory upgrade did the trick for me. Good luck!

  3. Hap said, on 03/03/2010 at 00:22

    Do you have a free program like MacJanitor? I run that, empty my cache on Safari, throw away all my junky files and then go to Disk Utility and repair all permissions. I’ve never frozen up much though. And I don’t use Garage Band. So my advice is probably not that helpful….


Leave a Reply

