The Random Griffith

Still in spinning beach ball hell

Posted in Uncategorized by Jackson Griffith on 03/03/2010

Yikers. I want to be on here, blogging, and also writing pieces so I can make some dough, and also recording my latest batch of 14 songs in GarageBand. Obviously the first order of business is getting out to the Apple Store to have one of their resident “geniuses” look at this thing, although at this point, even J.R. “Bob” Dobbs might be able to provide some kind of assistance, at least better than what I can come up with on my own.


If I was digging ditches or doing something else that didn’t require a computer, none of this would be a problem. But since I need to use this thing to write and research stuff, well, it kinda goes without saying that I’m SOL without it. Soooo, well, I’ll shut up about my problems.

Last night, I went to the Fox & Goose for Monday night open mic, and ended up drawing No. 19, which meant that I got to play around 11:45, after this brilliant young guy named Jordan, and before the great Sal Valentino. I think I was eclipsed by both those guys, but I’m just a reasonably good songwriter with a meh kinda voice. But it was a sweet good time doing one of my favorite activities.


Best part of the evening was earlier, hanging out and trading songs with Ricky Berger. She waltzed in right before the ticket draw, and managed to get first pick. I’d had pretty good luck the past couple of weeks by doing the same thing; I stupidly got there early and got one of the first tickets, which went to the bottom of the jar and stayed there. And I even had a friendly row with host Dave Baldwin, who insisted that my theory of last in, first on the list was hogwash.

Of course, I know different. Dude needs to shake the jar a little. —Jackson Griffith

Leave a Reply

