The Random Griffith

My 90 posts in 90 days promise

Posted in Uncategorized by Jackson Griffith on 18/03/2010

I started this blog on the Winter Solstice, and here it is, St. Patrick’s Day, a few days before the Vernal Equinox, and it looks like I’ve hit my goal; this is post No. 90. Which is a relief, because when I started doing this, I’d just come off a collapse of confidence in my writing ability, and I needed some way to make a committed return to writing regularly. Blogging really works for that, or at least it’s worked for me.

I won’t go into the writer’s block thing, except to say that when it happens, it’s real. I got to where I couldn’t write, didn’t think anything I had written or was writing or could write was worth a shit, and that’s all there was to it. And this from someone who wrote a monthly column for 15 years and then a weekly column for three years.

The beauty of blogging is that you just do it. And there’s no real guarantee that everything you write is going to be up to some lofty standard of quality, really; you just put something together and post it. So that’s what I’ve done here, and will continue to do. No guarantees, but I’d like to hit the 180-post mark by the Summer Solstice. And among those, I’m guessing there may be something worth reading.

This has been fun. It continues to be fun. And I’m enjoying the practice of writing again. Hope you enjoy reading what I write. And thank you for reading. Cheers! —Jackson Griffith

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. James Pierini said, on 18/03/2010 at 11:28

    Congratulations on your big anniversary! St. Patrick’s Day? Fuck nah, I’m celebrating 90 days of Random Griffith. Looking forward to 90 more.

  2. Warren Bishop said, on 19/03/2010 at 00:50

    I am digging the hell out this … what I really like is that it’s like having a continuing conversation with you without the Old I distractions or the suburban exile feelings.


Leave a Reply

