The Random Griffith

Laundromatic again

Posted in apology for not posting for a while, laundromat posts by Jackson Griffith on 06/05/2010

Sorry I’ve been away. I’d written a long screed that I kept adding to, and then better sense told me not to post it. Allergies are making me slightly wacko, but at least these days I have the presence of mind to be able to understand exactly what’s gone sideways in my head. You know, feelings aren’t facts and all that.

What I’ve been doing is writing, so that I don’t totally starve. I’m still looking for work, but until someone graciously succumbs to the brilliant idea that I would be a pretty decent fellow to bring on board, I’m writing. The trick, I’ve learned, is to eat, because I get loopy when I haven’t eaten enough, and then I have trouble concentrating on whatever it is I’m writing about.

Been recording, too. This past week into the weekend, I got seven out of the 14 songs I wrote in February demoed into GarageBand. A few of them I want to revisit and redo the vocals and remix them slightly, but overall I’m happy with the progress. Then I’ll record the other seven songs, and then maybe I’ll get busy recording some of the songs I wrote before February, and a couple I’ve written since. It’s good to stay creative and upbeat. Well, good for this particular artist, at least.

I like to share what I create, but unfortunately I don’t have a website to do that. Yeah, I posted some stuff on that social networking site owned by Rupert Murdoch, but I’d really like to avoid going that route. WordPress has a way I can upload them here as links, but I’d need to buy additional server space from them to do that, and currently I’m counting my shekels to avoid starving. So, if anyone is a combination of curious and magnanimous — curious to hear what I’ve been up to, and magnanimous enough to spring for some server space for me at WordPress — I will be able to upload my MP3s for people to hear.

Normally, that wouldn’t be a problem. But over the last couple of years, I’ve taken a nice toboggan ride to the bottom of the hill, and most of the time there wasn’t any snow on the ground to cushion the blows. Nevertheless, every day/ I keep moving things forward, hoping that things will get better, as many people assure me they will.

But, well … I’m just not there yet. Yet being the operative word. —Jackson Griffith

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jackson Griffith said, on 08/05/2010 at 14:52

    Oh, and if anyone is interested in helping me out, ping me at jacksonbgriffith@gmail.com.


Leave a Reply

