The Random Griffith

I guess you know the tune

Posted in apology for not posting for a while, arbeit macht frei, laundromat posts by Jackson Griffith on 06/06/2010

Well, this feels like some kind of turning point. In a few hours, I’m heading down to the 209 to hang out with some old friends in the mind-roasting burg of Lodi, California. Lodi was the more cleaned-up white-flight place to live in San Joaquin County, which for you non-northern Californians is just south of Sacramento County in the middle of the Central Valley, or as I tell people, the part of California that’s essentially Texas or Oklahoma with a more pronounced Asian influence. I grew up down there, kinda between Lodi and Stockton, but more Stockton, really, which is why my conversational abilities sometimes decompose into guttural grunts and cries to “take it to the bridge” over rhythmically strummed and hard-syncopated ninth chords.

I’m not sure of what I’m doing, but what the hey. If the conversation on the phone I had last week wasn’t a hallucination, I think I’m starting work in Lodi come Monday. So I’ll have to figure out if I want to live down there, or live here in Sacramento and commute. On one side, I have cousins here, but my daughter lives in Chico and I rarely see her, and I’m currently unattached to anyone romantically in this town, so maybe a move might be just what it takes to get life progressing in some kind of direction other than completely stuck. On the other hand, as a friend pointed out on Facebook, I’ve got lots of family here, or at least I’ve made a lot of good friends since I arrived in the 916 in 1984, which will make leaving pretty hard.

So, a dilemma. I’m not going to stew about it, though; I’m just gonna head down the 99 to the 209 today and see what’s up. Maybe I’m sitting here in this laundromat on a Saturday morning with a head foggy from two days of refinishing floors in a San Francisco server farm and three consecutive nights of cleaning office buildings for a friend who owns a janitorial service, and I’m just kinda slightly beat in a good way, and I shouldn’t think too hard about anything right now.

One thing I do know is that in the SMF since I’ve been here, I’ve watched tons of other people assemble projects play music together, but I’ve never been able to gather together any kind of people to play the songs I’ve written, while finding those people seems a lot easier down in the 209. That’s really all I want in life right now — a job where I can make enough to live in a non-palatial pad with a comfortable bed and decent kitchen space, and then I can play music and write and make art (drawing, painting) like I used to do. Maybe get a dog.

Oh, well. Time to fold clothes, then maybe go get coffee. Then, Lodi calls. —Jackson Griffith

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Singing Sparrow said, on 06/06/2010 at 05:01

    Here’s wishing you well!!!

  2. Warren Bishop said, on 07/06/2010 at 02:51

    Well, the thing about living in Lodi is that it really isn’t that far to come to Sacto to play or visit. It’s odd, because when I first lived up here in the early 80’s there wasn’t any real development down 99, so the 35 minutes or so seemed interminable. But in recent years my job took me that way once a week and Lodi to Sac seemed like nothing. So here’s to possible new futures in the bug killin’ trad, better days and GIGS!

  3. Brother Dan said, on 09/06/2010 at 13:28

    Hey Jackson! I for one, am waiting here with baited breath to see how things develop in the 209. Don’t keep us hangin’, dude! Well, if you can make it out to Clubhouse 24 on Sunday (24th St. between J & I Sts.), we can catch up then and swap a few tunes. If you can’t make it, blog away!!! LOL . . .


Leave a Reply

