The Random Griffith

My life’s been going through some changes

Posted in apology for not posting for a while, arbeit macht frei, music by Jackson Griffith on 09/06/2010

Time sure flies, doesn’t it? I mean, my last post here was sometime last weekend, maybe Saturday morning. And here it is in the middle of the week, at 4:30 in the morning because I can’t sleep, and I realized it might be a good time to bring you all up to speed.

Okay, so I went to that party in Lodi last Saturday afternoon. Saw a bunch of old friends, made some new ones, heard some sad news (my roommate Jim from when I lived in Stockton before I moved to Las Vegas died the week before), played a few tunes and got out of there reasonably early. Didn’t go out and see any bands when I got home.

The next day, Sunday, I mowed the lawn of a female friend. Now, mowing a woman’s lawn sounds metaphorically tumescent in a blues singer kinda way, but I literally spent the day working a weed whacker and other garden tools. Which destroyed me pretty much, what with the sun and allergies and stuff.

Then, Monday, I went back to Lodi. I really do not want to jinx anything, but I went back there Tuesday morning, and I am about to go back there again in a few hours. What I will tell you is that it appears that life is good, and there is a considerable possibility that my life circumstances over the past couple years may be changing for the much, much better, and that I will be very happy doing what I will be doing.

So that’s the skinny. My daughter Ellie also found work for the summer, at the resort community where she’s staying. Her sister just landed a new gig, too. On Friday, or tomorrow night, I get to meet Jim, my one sibling I’ve never met, for the first time, along with Amy, who would be my niece, and her husband Frank and their two kids. So this has been a time of real changes.

Then again, change is the only thing you can count on, right? Or so I have heard, —Jackson Griffith

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lisa said, on 10/06/2010 at 00:16

    Great seeing you on Saturday, Jackson. And thanks for playing for us! I’m keeping everything crossed and sending out REALLY positive vibes that things work out well for you in Lodi. I know you have a lot of friends who care about you around there too.

  2. elle wrathall said, on 11/06/2010 at 11:27

    🙂


Leave a Reply

