The Random Griffith

That’s soooo intense!

Posted in hype, music by Jackson Griffith on 06/07/2010

Blame it on the heat, or something. I’m baked. But just a little sun-dried, mind you, rather than bong-loaded full-on bakery baked, where every guitar solo or flash of sunlight on the leaves and flowers is completely maniac and way too intense and, um, whoa. It gets like this every year in the valley, when there are no double rainbows because rain is scarce, only the crawling out of the heat into a source of shade like an old tired dog waiting for the evening and maybe a little delta breeze.

I used to bitch about the heat every year, but now I’ve made my peace with it. There’s always nearby water, and if you can stay sufficiently hydrated and get out in the heat every day long enough to become somewhat acclimated, it isn’t as godawful as one might imagine. But the heat does sap the energy and incline a person favorably toward naptime, and sometimes a good nap is just what the old doctor ordered.

Unless you’ve got something to do. Me, I’m gonna go play some tunes now at Dad’s Kitchen, which is located at 2968 Freeport Boulevard, between Vallejo Way and Fifth Avenue, just south of the Freeport Bakery and Marie’s Donuts. I’m fixing to start around 6 p.m. out on the back patio, so if you’re in that particular neighborhood, please feel free to join us. I am sorry to report that the Cuban hotel orchestra that usually accompanies me is stuck in Havana, back in the year 1926, and on such short notice I was not able to marshal the services of an appropriate mariachi or jarocho banda, so it’ll be me and my guitar and whatever horny tomcats are yowling on the back fence.

Dunno how intense my double rainbow will be tonight, but feel free to check it out. —Jackson Griffith

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dan said, on 08/07/2010 at 12:53

    Just wanted to chime in and say that I saw some crazy double reversing and intersecting rainbows while up on Shasta this May.

  2. dan said, on 25/07/2010 at 04:32

    Wow, you must be working hard, or your laptop is totally bust this time…

    ..or your blog moved to a new web address?

    Hope to see you on Saturday at Launch

  3. Jackson Griffith said, on 25/07/2010 at 05:02

    By the rime I get home from work, I’ve had too many other things to do. Or I’m tired, or a combination of both. See post after this. I just took a break. Got lots of new stuff to write about.

  4. J-Slo said, on 28/07/2010 at 19:40

    These video clips are the perfect compliment to your randomness. But seriously…tell me that dude didn’t just blow his wad at the end. Between his Mel Gibson-ish panting, and the crying, it was such a buzzkill.


Leave a Reply

