The Random Griffith

Hormiga gonna do somethin’ tonight

Posted in bugs are cool, embarrassing confessionals by Jackson Griffith on 25/08/2010

Sometimes when it gets all hot and sweaty like this on summer nights, I think of huge glistening cities of dark blood-red brick and oil-stained asphalt, crawling with bugs under an infested moon. It’s an exo world down here, and I’m just another goddamn vert trying to make my way through this mess, but the bugs have it over us in so many ways. I mean, why breathe through your mouth if you can wheeze through spiracles? Why amble about on two legs when you can totter around on six, or eight? Why bother talking when you can rub your antennae up against another bug’s, or else just thrust it in the air and pick up the weirdo bug vibrations?

Exos versus the verts, and the exos are winning. There’s way more of them, and they don’t give a fuck. They just keep breeding like goddamn bugs, and they’re not sentimental about anything. I know this; I’ve had more than a few late-night telepathic conversations with various members of the genus Blattella germanica, otherwise known as Keith Richards with six legs and no guitar, while under the captive perceptual straits of various stable alkaloids and a few rather unstable ones, and what was up with that is that B. germanica don’t give a rat’s ass about much of anything as long as there’s food and crap and other junk laying about. Not that cockroaches are great conversationalists; even in fluent bug, they just grunt and mumble like old drunks. You want conversationalists? Beetles are where it’s at.

What am I on about here? I dunno. Damn hot weather messes me up if I get used to cooler climes, and like I said, hot weather puts me in a buggy mood. So I’m sitting here and some Tom Waits comes on, and that even makes me buggier. I’m sheer trouble when I get in this frame of mind, so I figure I’d better write something about it and hope it passes soon, and then I can move on to something else.

Hope it goddamn cools down soon. I’m a pussy about this shit. Seriously. —Jackson Griffith

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Junk said, on 26/08/2010 at 14:42

    This was profound and expertly done—yet another winning piece! Thanks, J🙂

  2. Jenna said, on 27/08/2010 at 07:12

    Dear Jackson,
    Hope you’re feeling better from the heat. Looks like the Delta Breeze is coming in–yea–80s this weekend–yea.
    Wanted to let you know that I was reading your Blog, and enjoying it very much.
    You really make me laugh and cry. Some things are very heartbreaking and I feel for you.
    If I comment on old posts–do you receive an alert?–so you know I made a comment on an old post.
    I don’t know if you know who I am, but I think if you saw me in person, you would know.
    Let’s just hope you don’t see me in person because you will probably make a bee-line (insect slang) for the door like everyone else.
    Oh-yeah, thanks for all the bug info–I’m learning so much–I watch all the bug videos–it’s absolutely fascinating.
    I get kind of nauseous thinking about the bed bugs, though.

  3. Mashareddik said, on 15/09/2010 at 14:05

    Как гладить рубашки из мятой ткани?
    утром увидели страшную картину: весь двор в каплях крови, возле забора всё залито, на заборе пятна. Наша собака(ротвейлер 6 месяцев),видимо,хорошо грызанула какого-то хулигана, который залез на нашу территорию. Что делать в таких ситуациях? Ведь она вкусила человеческую кровь…


Leave a Reply

