The Random Griffith

And now, back to our regularly scheduled family-friendly programming

Posted in gosh darn it we're g-rated by Jackson Griffith on 30/08/2010

Gosh darn it. Sometimes I let myself get so rattled about matters mundane that I just fudging start swearing like a gollydurn sailor. And no offense to sailors, some of which do not let loose with the string of profanities and inanities that I’ve been guilty of unleashing lately. I’ve been trying to figure out just what it is that sets me off like this. Perhaps it’s lack of sleep, or maybe a dearth or complete absence of intimate horizontal or even vertical affections, or it could be the drunken conversations and wafting disco beats and tango music I hear when I do manage to drift off to sleep.

Go figure. Because I’m really a gosh darn heck whiz kinda guy at heart. A soda-pop drinker. A polite citizen.

But sometimes I just get so bent out of shape that I sound like an entire dock-full of stevedores who just got told by the boss that they’ll be working overtime and thus they won’t get to check out the new stripper at the wharfside watering hole tonight. Or sometimes my dark side crawls up out of the brainpool, sits on the diving board and launches into whatever twisted thing it’s been ruminating about deep inside my head, and the next thing everybody knows, I’m stammering while trying to explain to people, well, uh I’m not sure where that came from; it just showed up on the page.

Anyway, boy oh boy. Wish I had a slice of hot apple pie and a chocolate malt about now. —Jackson Griffith

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lisa said, on 30/08/2010 at 08:35

    i think you need to quit watching/viewing whatever celebrity shows/sites you are hooked on. I’ve never heard of any of the things you get so upset about… But I don’t pay attention to gossip sites or shows. Those seem to be the things that really get you swearing like crazy… Just say NO – LOL. Here’s hoping your home/love life improves soon so you will have some positive distraction… You are a good guy and deserve some happiness in your life!

    • Jackson Griffith said, on 31/08/2010 at 02:15

      Thanks, Lisa. But as a longtime writer on pop culture stuff, high, low and outright trashy, I feel like I have to keep monitoring the junk. That said, I’ll try to take a break when something just spins me sideways. But Glenn Beck and Sarah Palin are another story, especially given the subtext of their puppetmasters, Rupert Murdoch and the brothers Koch. And thank you for the kind words. I am generally happy, though. I mean, most of the time, especially if I’m not sleep-deprived. And even in a sleep-deprived state, like the one I’m in today (a show that ended around midnight, then loud cajun music upstairs and funky disco downstairs while I was trying to get to sleep, culminating in 1:30 a.m. screams of “Don’t rape me!” from the sidewalk), I’m a pretty happy guy. Cheers, JBG

  2. judi said, on 04/09/2010 at 07:50

    Jackson, you rock….keep on with your tearing of new orifaces…..I laughed so hard….you might actually be even better as a sleep deprived maniac….!

    BTW…I totally 100% agree with all of this political grist …. I will transpose some of the story of the ants now, and imagine beckistan being devoured or at least gripped by the dis-bodied heads of the koch bros and murdoch, while sarah palin is cavorting with anal fluids….

    I spent most of the summer several times a week being kept awake by the young woman who lives upstairs from me….she had NO idea I could hear everything she was involved in so I stayed up one night, since I couldn’t sleep and was bordering on rage, and recorded in an email everything I could hear. I sent it to the property manager. It stopped….


Leave a Reply

