The Random Griffith

Because it is there

Posted in arbeit macht frei, embarrassing confessionals by Jackson Griffith on 07/10/2010

Because it is there. Because it is here. Because I must write. Something. Every day. Because there is a ghost in my computer. Because it is a big angry cat that will eat my soul if I do not write something. Because the music in this place is too loud. Because I hate the Smiths. Because I want to roll around on the floor naked with the woman sitting directly in front of me. Because I am laughing at the two new-age nitwits sitting next to her, the doofy hippie and the woman with dyed blonde hair and several facelifts and way too much Arizona-style jewelry. Because, I dunno.

I don’t have any good stories today. Today was kinda boring. I worked. I wrote. I didn’t feel all that great. I started falling asleep toward the end of the day. I thought about rolling around on the floor naked with a friend of mine during an important business meeting. I thought about some other things. I read about how some scientists in Montana and in the Army or Navy collaborated on solving the mystery of sudden hive collapse among honeybees. I read about big-headed ants in Florida, and several species of cockroaches in California, and flies, and beetles, and fleas, too. I looked on Google Maps and found the big ugly red reservoir of aluminum byproducts in Hungary that killed several people and wiped out at least one small town. I played with some crickets in a plastic bag. I drove home. I came directly to this coffeehouse. I ordered some herbal tea. I started typing. This.

The music is too loud. The hipsters are hilariously aloof. I kinda fit in, but really, I don’t. —Jackson Griffith

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amy Yannello said, on 07/10/2010 at 12:30

    Jackson, I adore you. Just when I need it most, you put a smile on my face.

  2. Warren Bishop said, on 07/10/2010 at 13:50

    Naw, that was good; there’s a woman that you didn’t meet that works across the hall from me that I regularly think about rolling around the floor naked with. I sometimes think she thinks about it too, but we can’t talk about it … It’s TMEC.


Leave a Reply

