The Random Griffith

Toast: It’s the snack that’s ready when you are

Posted in WTF? Seriously? by Jackson Griffith on 11/10/2010

Sunday, and I’m, how you say, really laid back. Sitting here, drank some mid-afternoon coffee after what we shall say is a late and sweetly decadent start to the day. I had all sorts of ambitions, but those have been scaled back. Especially any ambitions that involve shopping. Not that I’d be at risk for environmentally administered butthurt at, say, IKEA, because I’m so mellow as a cello right now that I just don’t give a rat’s patootie. So there.

What’s nice is that I my mellow vibe isn’t polluted by television. Imagine what a crinkly old cuss I’d be right now if I’d spent the morning watching political chatfests on TV, which essentially is several trouserloads of Republican Party propaganda and spin. Even on MSNBC, which isn’t long for this world in its present incarnation — once new NBC Universal owner Comcast gets hold of the cable network, Keith Olberman and Rachel Maddow and the rest will be getting the bum’s rush. Given the kind of game Comcast has demonstrated already on its flagship network E!, we can expect that the new czar of programming will be Ryan Seacrest, with Chelsea Handler and the various Kardashian sisters and hangers-on handling the interviews. “So, Sarah, when you’re in Los Angeles, where’s your favorite place to go shopping? Have you ever been to Dash? Come to Dash, and bring a camera crew!”

Did I mention how much I loathe those swarthy Gabor Sisters? Comcast and Seacrest, too. —Jackson Griffith

Leave a Reply

