The Random Griffith

Sweet dreams, everybody

Posted in trippy by Jackson Griffith on 08/07/2011

Part of the time I don’t know what I’m talking about, or where I’m going with something. And that goes doubly when there are other people involved, when a conversation starts out one place and then jumps through a bunch of hoops and ends up in a completely different place. Happens all the time. Ever trace your conversations to see where the pivot points, where one subject morphed into something different, were located, followed by another pivot point that led off into an altogether different direction?

Ever sit down and close your eyes and follow your breath, and perform that same tracing-the-pivot-points action with your thoughts when they arise? Or when you remember to go back to the breath, ever remember a whole string of thoughts and images that transpired?

Ever have strange dreams, the ones that don’t make any sense as a linear narrative, and upon awakening they’re tightly woven together like a film, but within the first minute’s breaths you take, they come apart like clouds under the hot sun, vanishing like wisps from your memory?

Happens to me all the time. Pleasant dreams. Or strange dreams, if that’s your preference. —Jackson Griffith

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dreamiliscious said, on 09/07/2011 at 05:13

    I am all about this! I wish to invent a human brain that can create an auto movie of it’s dreams.
    This is what I hope for my very own blog to evolve into. Check me out. I was already following you
    thru a mutual friend… Tommy VanWormer. I discovered your post when I found out of his passing.

    I have really enjoyed your recent postings. Keep writing! and breathing! and dreaming too.

    namaste


Leave a Reply

